Quantcast

Game of Thrones: The Complete Third Season (Blu-ray Review)

Game of Thrones TNI’m sorry, but whenever I think of the title Game of Thrones: The Complete Third Season, I can’t help the imagery conjured up in my mind of one of television’s most shocking episodes of all time, “The Rains of Castamere.”  Wow!  I never saw that coming and rightfully so because I’ve never read George R.R. Martin’s novels either.  So with that being said and for so many other reasons as to why, which I’ll get into more below, this third season was one of the best of the series so far for me and so many other countless fans of the HBO show.  And get this, in the ten nearly one-hour episodes a piece, we only covered half the terrain that is Martin’s third novel, A Storm of Swords.  Can you believe it?  That’s almost 10 flipping hours of content, but only half of a book’s length!  I got to be honest with you all, as big as a fan I am of the show, I’m not sure I have it in me to tackle these books in my lifetime.  I’m not sure I’m strong enough.  Thankfully, I don’t have to worry about whether or not my strength can endure all that literature, HBO has had me covered for the past three years and many upcoming more.  So now, without further ado, let’s talk about Season 3 of one of the hottest fantasy shows there is or ever was for that matter on television…ladies and gentlemen…Game of Thrones.

Game of Thrones - Lena

Season 

So now that you already know what book this third season is based off of and kind of know what to expect from the previous two seasons, what do you say we get the other formalities out of the way, such as the huge returning and new cast members as well as what director helms what episode, so we can talk about the real meat and potatoes of the season?  The Mother of Dragons!  Haha.  I’m just kidding.  We’ll try to talk about all the major players we possibly can.  Sound good?  Grand!  Now, let’s talk some cast!

You ready for this?  It’s going to be a mad rush of names thrown at you.  And I wonder why all the different characters are so hard to keep track of on the show, huh?  The following list just blows my mind, and it’s only the returning cast.  So put your hands together and please welcome returning cast members Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister), Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark), Lena Headey (Cersei Lannister), Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jaime Lannister), Aidan Gillen (Petyr “Littlefinger” Baelish), Iain Glen (Jorah Mormont), Kit Harington (Jon Snow), Richard Madden (Robb Stark), Maisie Williams (Arya Stark), Isaac Hempstead Wright (Bran Stark), Sophie Turner (Sansa Stark), Jack Gleeson (Joffrey Baratheon), Alfie Allen (Theon Greyjoy), Rory McCann (Sandor “The Hound” Clegane), Charles Dance (Tywin Lannister), Jerome Flynn (Bronn), Conleth Hill (Varys), John Bradley (Samwell Tarly), Gwendoline Christie (Brienne of Tarth), James Cosmo (Commander Mormont), Stephen Dillane (Stannis Baratheon), Carice van Houten (Melisandre), Liam Cunningham (Davos Seaworth), Sibel Kekilli (Shae), Rose Leslie (Ygritte) and Natalie Dormer (Margaery Tyrell).  And like I said the above are just the returning ones.  How about we mention and get all the new cast members for Season 3 out of the way?  You ready?!  They include Ciarán Hinds (Mance Rayder), Diana Rigg (Lady Olenna Tyrell, Emmy-nominated for her role), Mackenzie Crook (Orell), Clive Russell (Brynden “The Blackfish” Tully), Nathalie Emannuel (Missandei), Kerry Ingram (Shireen Baratheon), Paul Kaye (Thoros of Myr), Thomas Brodie-Sangster (Jojen Reed), Ellie Kendrick (Meera Reed), Richard Dormer (Beric Dondarrion), Kristofer Hivju (Tormund Giantsbane), Philip McGinley (Anguy), Tara Fitzgerald (Selyse Baratheon), Tobias Menzies (Edmure Tully), Anton Lesser (Qyburn), Ian McElhinney (Barristan Selmy), Michael McElhatton (Roose Bolton) and Noah Taylor (Locke).

Once again, if you are a weathered fan of the show, then you already know we get treated to episodes in the hands of different, but highly capable directors.  I thought what would make for a good reference in this review in lieu of wasting anymore of your time here in this forum is providing a quick preview, think of it as a “video sneak peek,” of each episode before the video section below complete with what disc they appear on in this Blu-ray box set and what director helmed what episode.  Sound good to you?  Okay!  Let’s talk some Season 3 goodness now!

For me, coming off an excellent Season 2 especially with a Neil Marshall directed episode in tow, the third season of Game of Thrones was both brilliant and captivating.  It kept me glued to my television screen like a child watching a new Sesame Street episode for the first time and wanting a cookie from Cookie Monster.  Each week surpassed the next and the tension was at an all-time high by the time we hit the “Red Wedding” in that most shocking episode of all time, the second to last of the season.  In fact, the only episode where I felt a little deflated and disappointed in was the final one.  But let’s face it, 9 out of 10 isn’t bad, and how would they ever top the shock they gave us the week before in “The Rains of Castamere?”  Heck, even I don’t have a plausible answer for that.  There’s a reason that Game of Thrones is the highest pirated show in the land as well as the fastest-selling TV on Blu-ray releases of all time and hopefully my score up above and sentiments here reflects those facts.

In Season 3, the battling families of the Seven Kingdoms continue to fight for power as relationships are strained, loyalties are tested and of course, war still seems to be the answer for almost everything. The Lannisters are scurrying to hold on to power after a savage naval onslaught from Stannis Baratheon in Season 2 (the action packed Neil Marshall episode I made mention to above), while Robb Stark, King of the North, faces major obstacles in his efforts to build on his victories over the Lannisters.  Now let’s talk beyond the Wall where Mance Rayder and his huge army of wildlings continue their never-ending, brutal march south.  What’s up with Jon Snow and Night’s Watch?  One the flip side, will Jaimie ever make it back home and who’s his new bodyguard?  And let’s not forget about Stannis and his mysterious lady in red, who by the way is very desirable under that robe.  Even in his Season 2 defeat, the man knows no such word of quitting or relinquishing his claim to the throne.  However, I have all my money down on this next gal where across the Narrow Sea, Daenerys Targaryen (aka The Mother of Dragons) has reunited with her three maturing dragons and attempts to raise an army at all logical costs to sail with her from Essos, in hopes of eventually claiming the Iron Throne for herself too.  So as you can see not much at all has changed from Season 1.  LOL.  Of course, I’m being facetious with that statement.  We still have the various parties (the seven kingdoms) of Westeros vying for that coveted throne that my favorite character in this series currently occupies, King Joffrey.  I just love the snake way Jack Gleeson plays him.  Whether he wanted all this fame or not ever since Batman gave him that gadget outside the apartment window, this boy has developed the chops.  When an actor portrays someone so good that you just want to see him die every time he’s onscreen, you know he’s doing something right.  Haha.  And that leads me to my next point here…the acting.

So we all know that the story of Game of Thrones is a rich, detailed and amazing, enthralling one, but let’s face it, even the best of stories don’t necessarily mean its onscreen counterpart is going to be half as good.  Not only does it take a very capable and visionary director to pull off such an incredible feat of retaining gold and producing more of it, but also the stars need to align perfectly for the selected cast as well.  And in addition to the rich production value HBO embellishes the Game of Thrones series with, the acting is just another area in this arena where hats off, the show truly shines and sparkles.  From the feuding relationships and torturous moments to the tender onscreen bonds of family and love, Game of Thrones leads the way where most other shows would normally see themselves stumble upon incapable actors or directors tasked to do scenes they may not feel comfortable with in their resume or with CGI, etc.  No one wants to see that, and thankfully with this HBO series, I don’t ever foresee that as a problem.  The world that George R.R. Martin has conjured up is a ginormous expansive one (there’s actually not a word large enough to describe his full body of work here) that’s still not complete as of yet, but I have full faith that the man will deliver and season after season I’ll shed a tear for all the fallen actors I have become attached to and embrace the many new ones with open arms.  You want to learn how to juggle multiple characters and their respective arcs in a story, get your notebook out and study this series now.  You won’t find a better example of things done right.  Even I admit to having to rewind at times or read character bios online to understand certain allegiances or what not.  I’m not ashamed to admit it.  There’s a lot going on in here…and best of all…there are DRAGONS TOO!!!

And here we go, as promised above, taken straight from HBO’s official website of the show check out the below video previews (where applicable) of each Season 3 episode and their respective air date, what Disc number you can find them on within this Blu-ray set, a quick written snippet about what transpires from the foldout poster booklet found inside this case and of course, which capable director helmed what.  Enjoy!

*

Episode 21: Valar Dohaeris (Disc 1) – Directed by  Daniel Minahan – March 31, 2013 Air Date

Jon is brought before Mance Rayder, the King Beyond the Wall, while the Night’s Watch survivors retreat south.  In King’s Landing, Tyrion asks for his reward.  Littlefinger offers Sansa a way out.  Cersei hosts a dinner for the royal family.  Daenerys sails into Slaver’s Bay.

SADLY, THERE IS NO PREVIEW FOR THIS EPISODE.  SORRY.

*

Episode 22: Dark Wings, Dark Words (Disc 1) – Directed by Daniel Minahan – April 7, 2013 Air Date

Sansa says too much.  Shae asks Tyrion for a favor.  Jaime finds a way to pass the time.  Arya runs into the Brotherhood Without Banners.

*

Episode 23: Walk of Punishment (Disc 2) – Directed by David Benioff – April 14, 2013 Air Date

Tyrion shoulders new responsibilities.  Jon is taken to the Fist of the First Men.  Daenerys meets with the slavers.  Jaime strikes a deal with his captors.

*

Episode 24: And Now His Watch Is Ended (Disc 2) – Directed by Alex Graves – April 21, 2013 Air Date

The Night’s Watch takes stock.  Varys meets an old acquaintance.  Arya is taken to the commander of the Brotherhood.  Dany exchanges a chain for a whip.

*

Episode 25: Kissed By Fire (Disc 3) – Directed by Alex Graves – April 28, 2013 Air Date

The Hound is judged by the gods; Jaime is judged by men.  Jon proves himself; Robb is betrayed.  Tyrion learns the costs of weddings.

*

Episode 26: The Climb (Disc 3) – Directed by Alik Sakharov – May 5, 2013 Air Date

Tywin plans strategic unions for the Lannisters.  Melisandre pays a visit to the Riverlands.  Robb weighs a compromise to repair his allegiance with House Frey.  Roose Bolton decides what to do with Jaime Lannister.  Jon, Ygritte and the wildlings face a daunting climb.

*

Episode 27: The Bear and the Maiden Fair (Disc 3) – Directed by Michelle Maclaren – May 12, 2013 Air Date

Dany exchanges gifts with a slave lord outside of Yunkai.  As Sansa frets about her prospects, Shae chafes at Tyrion’s new situation.  Tywin counsels the king, and Melisandre reveals a secret to Gendry.  Brienne faces a formidable foe as Harrenhal.

*

Episode 28: Second Sons (Disc 4) – Directed by Michelle Maclaren – May 19, 2013 Air Date

King’s Landing hosts a wedding, and Tyrion and Sansa spend the night together.  Dany meets the Titan’s Bastard.  Davos demands proof from Melisandre.  Sam and Gilly meet an older generation.

*

Episode 29: The Rains of Castamere (Disc 4) – Directed by David Nutter – June 2, 2013 Air Date

Robb presents himself to Walder Frey, and Edmure meets his bride.  Jon faces his harshest test yet.  Bran discovers a new gift.  Daario and Jorah debate how to take Yunkai.  House Frey joins House Tully.

*

Episode 30: Mhysa (Disc 10) – Directed by David Nutter – June 9, 2013 Air Date

Joffrey challenges Tywin.  Bran tells a ghost story.  In Dragonstone, mercy comes from strange quarters.  Dany waits to see if she is a conquerer or a liberator.

*

Game of Thrones - Kit

Video 

Truth be told, this is my very first Blu-ray review utilizing my new PlayStation 4 Blu-ray media machine (see the full review of that here) so I’m stoked to talk about the video and audio of this thrilling Blu-ray box set courtesy of HBO.  And for those of you who were counting, yes I said the word Blu-ray three times on purpose in that last sentence.  The first thing you will notice here is how intricately similar this season is compared to its predecessors, but I regard it as so  in a very good way.  In addition to the very fine detail, which we will talk about in a few, the color stock and mood is escalated by the stunning visuals, cinematography and quality of this 1080p AVC MPEG-4 encode with the expected dark castle interiors, brightly lit, wooded outdoors and endless vast snowscapes and the “dark” tone that matches the bleak subject matter and treachery unfolding and plotting every episode onscreen.  Yes, this is a dark series and this transfer therefore is intentionally a dark one.  You wouldn’t want it vibrant throughout, would you?  This 1.78:1 aspect ratio presentation basks in the warmhearted glow of its cinematic qualities it yields.  So let’s talk about the detail!  Wow!  Sit down and watch any episode.  I don’t care.  From the scars that adorn certain character faces to the intricate fabric that wives and constructs the wardrobe, no expense is spared.  Even individual snowflakes look fabulous, and I hate snow.  LOL.  Perhaps what caught my eye the most, and I’m not sure why, were the light, pale freckles on the face of Daenerys Targaryen, the Mother of Dragons.  Of course, there’s lots of beautiful scenery to behold and gaze upon in Game of Thrones, right guys?  The black levels are all in check as well as the skin tones and color saturation too.  There are no visual signs of banding, artifacts, specks of noise or other blemishes in the print to be found at all.  You get what I’m saying?  Things look perfect here for a premium television show on the supreme HD format of choice.  The look, the feel and the cold, damp and treacherous atmosphere of Game of Thrones is brilliantly rendered and captured timelessly here…in my opinion of course.

GOT

Audio 

From the show’s powerful, rousing and heroic opening score to the stomping and romping of Daenerys Targaryen’s new army on horseback things sounds absolutely fantastical with this  DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track that literally immerses you in the fantasy and perfidiousness of it all in Season 3 of Game of Thrones.  The LFE and aggressive rear surrounds will make you feel like you’re in the heart of the action, adventure and diabolical treachery here from the howling and blistery winds of the winter landscape to the clash of swords and armor and crows yapping and flapping, things sound colossal here. You got to love the pans and directionality this surround track immobilizes you in.  Most importantly, as there is certainly a fair share of spoken word to say the least in this series, dialog is always prioritized and intelligible, because let’s face it.  If you don’t understand what’s going on or being said in this show, it’s quite easy to get lost adrift the many family story lines and complex layers that develop throughout here.  So pay attention!  LOL.  But seriously, for a television show on the Blu-ray format, things have never sounded better in my living room.  This DTS-HD Master Audio track rivals most theatrical presentations so you know what to do…um…turn it up!  Rock it!  Have fun with the swords clanging, the horses a-stomping and the hot, passionate and sweaty bodies doing the…um…what they do in George R.R. Martin’s fantasy world (you know all too well what they do).  Also, selectable from the main menu on the Blu-ray discs are audio options for French and Spanish DTS 5.1 and Polish and Spanish DTS 2.0 as well as subtitles in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Norwegian, Polish and Swedish.

Game of Thrones - Dragon lady

Extras 

All I have to say is this Blu-ray set just keeps getting better and better as we move throughout this review.  If a score of 5 in the Season department wasn’t enough for you, nor in the Audio and Video sections, wait until you get the lay of the land here in the Special Features consortium.  Wow!  Are you in for a treat!  In my opinion, as far as Blu-ray television box sets go, no one does it better, bigger and bolder (including their packaging) than HBO.  They blow me away each and every time with these Game of Thrones box sets.  And here’s why!  The Blu-ray and DVD editions of Season 3 share many of the same features, but low and behold the winning format, Blu-ray of course, has so much more to offer consumers such as interactive guides, illustrated histories and an extensive feature on the creation of “The Rains of Castamere,” containing nearly two hours of never-before-seen material, as well as new looks at he infamous “Red Wedding.”  Can I get a big OH HELL YEAH?!  I felt like a kid in a candy store where my mom told me I can pick 10 of anything when I dove into all the below special features.  Come on!  Let’s get started!  I’ll show you around the place including what disc number you can find the below special features on.  Like the show, this one’s huge!

  • In-Episode Guide (HD) – This is an in-feature resource that will track the onscreen action so you can learn more about the characters (what ones are in the scenes, their house and bio as the storyline evolves), locations (tracks where each scene takes place) and relevant histories (reveals the legends of Westeros and Essos and important events in Season 3).  And are you ready for this?  This feature is available for each of the ten episodes in this gigantic box set.  Basically what happens is that there is a ribbon on the upper right hand side of the screen where you can make your selections manually in each scene in the categories above and that selection opens either a second ribbon of choices or factoids and information for you to read, learn and absorb.  FYI…the Histories buttons are where the animated videos are.
  • The Rains of Castamere Unveiled (Disc 4, HD, 46:36) – Here you can get an in-depth look at the creation of the most pivotal and SHOCKING episode of Season 3 in this comprehensive exposé featuring the cast and crew as you watch the episode in a Picture-in-Picture mode with multiple “framed” windows, interviews, behind-the-scenes footage and even more content and videos outside of this selectable via an icon on the screen that is present during certain intervals and update scene by scene.  Towards the end of the episode you are prompted with three options for viewing the “Red Wedding” (continue with the P-I-P track, with commentary by David Benioff, D.B. Weiss and George R.R. Martin or watch uninterrupted).  It’s interesting how they talk about once we make it to this point, we have an audience who’s not going to give up on this show.  I love watching the episode and hearing and seeing all the cast and crew interviews as well as the cameras filming the scenes live.  Love it!  The fight scene within the 3-day fake rain shoot with Jon Snow was also quite interesting to learn about.  It’s always cool to see a real wolf maul a man in a green suit.
  • The Roots of Westeros (Disc 5, HD, various lengths) – Here one gets to explore the interconnected web of relationships, rivalries, feuds and conflicts between the seven noble Houses of Westeros (The North, The Westerlands, The Riverlands,The Stormlands, The Vale, The Reach, The Wall & Beyond, Across The Narrow Sea) with this interactive guide via animated segments.  After a quick infographic of each of the seven Houses, you can then select Play History to enter the animated extra for each.  The only weird thing is once you begin playing one of these segments I could not find a way to exit without finishing the runtime of the animated segment you are in.
  • Histories & Lore (Disc 5, HD, various lengths) – Here we get to learn about the mythology of Westeros as told from the varying perspectives of the characters themselves in the following narrated animated segments: Battle of Qohor (Jorah Moromont), Old Ghis & Slaver’s Bay (Jorah Mormont ), House Reed (Meera Reed), House Bolton (Roose Bolton), House Frey (Catelyn Stark), House Tully (The Blackfish), The Lord of Light (Thoros of Myr), Wargs and the Sight (Bran Stark), The Red Keep (King Joffrey), Robert’s Rebellion (Petyr Baelish and Lord Varys), The North (Jon Snow), The Reach (Margaery Tyrell), The Riverlands (The Blackfish), The Stormlands (Brienne of Tarth), The Westerlands (Tywin Lannister) and The Vale (Petyr Baelish).  Each one of the aforementioned segments is selected individually and upon selection an infographic displays who the narrator is and a Play option, which will take you into the animated segment with its respective narrator (the character’s actor).  I experienced the same odd play functionality as described in the extra above.
  • A Gathering Storm (Disc 1, HD, 14:01) – Look back at the stormy events of Season 2 in this 14-minute recap with cast and crew that kind of serves for all intent and purposes as an overview and quick catchup so you are ready for Season 3 complete with plot points, betrayals, etc.  If it’s been awhile for you, you may find this one useful to check out quickly before diving into the Season 3 episodes.  I really like how the cast gets on camera and kind of introduces where their particular characters are in the story and what happened to them in Season 2.
  • The Politics of Marriage  (Disc 5, HD, 8:38) – The concept of matrimony in Westeros is all about making power plays and political alliances so here the cast and crew examine this ancient institution and its place in Game of Thrones.  It’s basically the art of war through love, right?  Marriage controls your legacy in the royal world.  A lot of this focuses on the merging of the Tyrell and Lannister families as well as taking care of the the younger Stark, Sansa.  It’s interesting to hear Peter Dinklage talk as he sounds nothing like he does on the show.  We also take a look at Robb Stark’s mistake of marrying for love.  Who does that?  LOL.
  • Inside the Wildlings (Disc 5, HD, 6:21) – Here we can go beyond the Wall with this introduction to the Wildlings, the people who live North of the Wall, to gain a better understanding of their backstory, culture and lifestyle through the cast and crew.  Heck!  I think everyone needs this education here, don’t you?  Time to meet the king, Jon Snow!  Martin interestingly talks about how large the land is north of the wall, almost as if real.  I know.  I know.  Suspension of disbelief is necessary here.  Haha.
  • New Characters of Season 3 (Disc 1, HD, 9:41) – This one is kind of self-explanatory as we get to meet the new faces in Season 3: Olenna Tyrell, Missandei, Mance Rayder, Tormund Giantsbane, Orell, Jojen & Meera Reed, Blackfish and Edmure Tully, Thoros of Myr and Beric Dondarrion.  A joke thrown out early on here is “we’re still casting more than we’re killing.”  Haha!  I love it!  Even Martin takes a turn chiming in about these new characters.
  • Deleted/Extended Scenes (Disc 5, HD, 14:28) – There are a total of five scenes available here and they are: “Jon Meets Mance,” “Edmure, Robb and The Blackfish,” “Tywin and Pycelle,” “Small Council Discusses Wildling Threat” and “Jon Thinks About Escaping.”  Rest assured, there is a Play Option here too.  With such enormous content to film and include here constrained to under an hour each episode it’s easy to see why certain scenes need to be cut or trimmed, but it’s up to you the viewer when you watch these to see whether or not you agree with these missing.
  • Audio Commentaries – So I know you’re not going to believe this, but there are a total of 12 commentaries involving both the cast and crew.  Rest assured, I already know what you’re thinking that there’s only ten episodes in this set and you’d be right!  So simple arithmetic logically dictates that having 12 commentary tracks is more than one per episode, but oddly the first episode in the set is absent a commentary track and I don’t know why that is.  The commentaries include “Dark Wings, Dark Words” with writer Vanessa Taylor, director Daniel Minahan, and actors Jack Gleeson and Natalie Dormer; “Walk of Punishment” with executive producers/writers/directors David Benioff and D.B. Weiss; “Walk of Punishment” with production designer Gemma Jackson and costume designer Michele Clapton; “And Now His Watch Is Ended” with director Alex Graves and actors Lena Headey and Diana Rigg; “Kissed by Fire” with writer Bryan Cogman and actors Nikolaj Coster-Waldau and Gwendoline Christie; “The Climb” with director Alik Sakharov and actors Kit Harington and Rose Leslie; “The Climb” with actors Sophie Turner, Maisie Williams and Isaac Hempstead Wright; “The Bear and the Maiden Fair” with co- executive producer/author George R.R. Martin and director Michelle MacLaren; “Second Sons” with MacLaren and actors John Bradley and Hannah Murray; “The Rains of Castamere” with director David Nutter and actors Richard Madden and Michelle Fairley; “The Rains of Castamere” with weapons master Tommy Dunne, stunt coordinator Paul Herbert, assistant stunt coordinator David Forman and swordmaster C.C. Smiff; and “Mhysa” with actors Emilia Clarke, Iain Glen and Iwan Rheon.  Did you get all that?  At least the best episode has two, huh?!
  • DVD (SD) – The Complete Third Season on DVD discs can be found in the separate vessel that hold the 2 DVDs and Digital Copy redemption codes (see the image in the unboxing pics below).
  • Digital Copy (HD) – Here is why I LOVE HBO!  They provide you a redemption code that is good for both iTunes and UltraViolet and best of all…the episodes are in HD!  God bless HBO for their generosity!

*

I know it’s been awhile since I last graced a Blu-ray review with my exclusive unboxing pictures, but that drought is over.  This Blu-ray packaging begs to be seen and judged by all.  So take a look around and relish in HBO’s spectacular and majestically crafted handiwork.

*

Here’s the front of the beefy Blu-ray box set still wrapped virgin sealed and perfect!

GOT 1

*

And here’s the back of the box set just begging to be plucked and unwrapped.

got 2

*

Take a look at that dragon shadow as I slide the plastic sleeve off.  Amazing!

GOT 3

*

There are two separate cardboard vessels that house the Blu-rays, DVDs and Digital Copy codes.

GOT 4

*

Now let’s take a look at all the Blu-ray discs and their respective holders and adorning artwork.

GOT 5

GOT 6

GOT 7

GOT 8

GOT 9

*

Low and behold, there’s even a foldout poster to be found of the iron throne.  Yea!

GOT 10

*

Game of Thrones - Rob Stark

Summary 

Well guys, I know this one’s a long one, so I appreciate you hanging in here with me and I hope you thoroughly enjoyed your time traversing through this review.  As you can see above, I tried my best to make it as interactive as humanly possible.  However, there’s just only so much you can cover before you say you just need to experience it for yourself.  With a Blu-ray box set as massive as this sometimes all you can do is be as robust and detailed in your reporting as space allows.  Thankfully, space is not an issue around here, but hopefully you’re picking up what I’m dropping so let’s do a quick recap here.

What does Season 3 of Game of Thrones offer you on the Blu-ray format?  Well I’m glad you asked because I can think of three main reasons why you need to hit that pre-order link below.  Ready?  Here we go!

1. You are getting one of the most amazing shows on television today in respect to breadth of storytelling, production value, cinematography and acting.  And let’s not forget the 9th episode of this season that’s perhaps one of the most shocking episodes ever to air on television.

2.  This Blu-ray box set contains 5 Dual-Layer 50GB Blu-ray discs that houses hours upon hours of bonus material not to mention the complete ten episode season in pristine 1080p picture and HD sound PLUS the complete 3rd Season on 2 DVD discs PLUS a redemption code for HD Digital Copies in both the iTunes format and UltraViolet PLUS it’s all housed in of the most incredible packages too filled with very nice looking self portraits of the main characters (see screenshots above).  For that $39 price tag down below, this is practically a steal!  Don’t you think?  It’s like HBO is paying you to take this off their hands.

3.  This one is quite simple.  You know you want to help support our site so we are able to kep it running smoothly and efficiently and able to deliver robust, kick-@$$ reviews like this, don’t you?  Of course you do and we all at WSB thank you for your generosity, time and support!  Enjoy this one!

Game of Thrones: The Complete Third Season doesn’t come out in retail stores until February 18th, but you can have it first by pre-ordering it here and ensuring that it’s on your doorstep waiting for you when you get home from a hard day of work .

Game of Thrones Season 3 Blu-ray Cover Art

Share

Owner/Writer/Reviewer/Editor, Dreamer, Producer, Agent of Love, Film Lover, Writer of Screenplays and a Devoted Apostle to all things Ford Mustangs (the real ones with V8's!). Some of my favorite films include FIGHT CLUB, MOULIN ROUGE, THE DARK KNIGHT, STAR WARS alongside television shows such as SEINFELD, 24, SANFORD & SON and even the often loathed in the geek community BIG BANG THEORY. Outside of my three lives I live I also enjoy spending time with my girlfriend and our three girls (of the furry kind).

Comments are currently closed.